|The Crime Reports section is open to the public Monday through Friday from 8:00am to 5:00pm, except holidays.
Kern County Sheriff’s Office
Crime Reports—Building B
1350 Norris Road
Bakersfield, California 93308
Crime Reports stores original reports for the Sheriff’s Office. This includes reports from the Bakersfield metropolitan area as well as the 16 substations and satellite offices. All reports from 2006 to the present are on file. We have limited records dating back to 1992.
Crime Reports is responsible for the confidentiality of certain information per Government Code Section 6254(f)—Public Records Act. Crime Reports is responsible for the dissemination of criminal reports in and out of the Sheriff’s Department.
Crime Reports personnel are mandated by law to assist the public in their search for information. Crime Reports makes copies of criminal reports for public and victims of crimes that are redacted (blacked out) to protect identity information as governed by law. The Public Records Act dictates that we must make available to the public the following information:
- Time/location/substance of complaint/request for service
- Time/nature of response
- Time/date/location of occurrence
- Time/date of report
- Name/age of victim (except as exempted)
- Factual circumstances
Additionally, the Public Records Act dictates that we must make available copies of criminal reports to victims of certain types of crimes, redacting any information which the law declares they are not entitled to.
Crime Reports will not release reports involving juveniles without a court order.
A Daily Event Summary is mandated by the Public Records Act to be available to the public for their review and will be produced upon request.
Crime Reports releases vehicles seized by the department in the Bakersfield metropolitan area. Vehicles will only be released to the registered owner with current registration and proof of current insurance. The registered owner must either have a valid driver’s license or must possess picture identification issued by the State of California or other state or federal agency of the United States and be accompanied by a valid licensed driver.
Vehicles being held under California Vehicle Code 14602.6 (30 Day Impound) will be held for 30 days. During the first ten business days, the registered owner may attend an impound hearing held Monday through Friday between 9:00 and 10:00am or 1:00 to 2:00pm to possibly obtain an early release on the vehicle. A $100.00 fee will be charged to the registered owner upon the release of an impounded vehicle.
Recovered stolen vehicles and vehicles towed by the department not under a 30 Day Impound do not incur a charge to obtain the claim check; however, there will be a fee charged by the company who towed the vehicle. Claim checks for these vehicles may be obtained from the Sheriff’s Office Monday through Friday between 8:00am and 5:00pm, excluding holidays.
Crime Reports also issues receipts for repossessed vehicles. These receipts will cost $15.00 payable by cash only.